The Management Committee

Information about the Management Committee

Armin Schmidt


since 10 Sep 2021

Although my earliest aspiration was to become an 'inventor' (a suitably broad job description), my fascination was always with history and ancient civilisations. However, in the end the natural sciences got the better of me and in 1982 I began to study Physics at the University of Technology Munich (Technische Universität München). One of the key events for me during that time was a seminar given by Helmut Becker in which he described his wonderful results from archaeological prospection using Caesium magnetometers. I was hooked.

Natalie Pickartz


since 10 Sep 2021

Natalie Pickartz is PostDoc in the working group 'Applied Geophysics' at the Institute of Geosciences at Kiel University, Germany.

Stephen Kay

Honorary Secretary

since 10 Sep 2021

Stephen is the Archaeology Officer at the British School at Rome (BSR), a Visiting Researcher within the School of History, Classics and Archaeology at Newcastle University and a Visiting Academic in the Department of Archaeology, University of Southampton. He graduated from Archaeology at the University of Durham and later undertook an MSc in Archaeological Computing at the University of Southampton.

Wolfgang Rabbel

Conference Secretary

since 10 Sep 2021

Christophe Benech

Conference Vice-Secretary

since 10 Sep 2021

Christophe Benech is Researcher at the CNRS (National Center of Scientific Research) in the Laboratory Archéorient (Maison de l'Orient et de la Méditerranée - Université Lyon 2).

Michal Pisz


since 10 Sep 2021

I am currently a PhD Student at the Chair for Hydrogeology and Geophysics at Faculty of Geology, University of Warsaw. My adventure with archaeological prospection and archaeo-geophysics has begun back in 2009, during my BA degree (Archaeology). Since then my research activity was always related to archaeological prospection, mostly on Roman sites. This passion helped me to conduct my first big research project in the hinterland of Tibiscum Roman fort in Western Romania.

Paul Johnson

ISAP Fund Secretary

since 15 Sep 2017 , re-elected 10 Sep 2021 (isap-fund at

Dr Paul Johnson studied for a BA in Archaeology at the University of Southampton, at which time he began his interest in archaeological geophysics, subsequently receiving an MA and PhD in Roman Archaeology from the same institution. During the course of these studies, in additition to working as a commerical archaeological geophysicist, he used geophysical survey and remote sensing as part of a number of projects at the Universities of Southampton and Cambridge, as well as for English Heritage, and the British School at Rome.

Paul Linford


since 1 Jan 2014 , re-elected 10 Sep 2021 (treasurer at

Paul Linford is the leader of the archaeological geophysics team at Historic England, UK.

Martin Roseveare

Ordinary Member

since 1 Nov 2021

Martin originally planned to become a geologist, but became distracted by archaeology and ended up at the University of Bradford studying archaeological science. There the geophysical influence of Arnold Aspinall was inspiring and he completed the Masters in Archaeological Prospection, conveniently solving the archaeology versus geology career problem.

Robert Ryndziewicz

Ordinary Member

since 1 Nov 2021

I am an archaeologist and researcher employed at the Institute of Archaeology and Ethnology of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw. My research passions - archaeology, physics and Earth sciences - meet in archaeogeophysics, which corresponds well with my lack of confidence in the destructive study of cultural heritage.

Marion Scheiblecker

Ordinary Member

since 1 Nov 2021

Marion Scheiblecker is a doctoral candidate at the Institute of Near Eastern Archaeology and at the Geophysics section within the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at LMU Munich. She is additionally part of the project "The unexplored Heartland: Institutional Landscapes and Networks in Eastern Fars“ and the ERC-project "DiverseNile“, also based at LMU Munich.

Tom Sparrow

Ordinary Member

since 1 Nov 2021

Joanna Szarkowska

Ordinary Member

since 13 Oct 2019 , re-elected 1 Nov 2021

Joanna is a geoarchaeologist based in Warsaw, Poland. She graduated with BA in Roman Archaeology in 2011 and MA in Baltic Archaeology in 2014 from the University of Warsaw. During her time at the University she became interested in the application of Earth Sciences in Archaeology.

Brian Whiting

Ordinary Member

since 1 Nov 2021

I will soon work as Director of Archaeological Geophysics at Geoscan Canada. There are currently many geophysical invesfigations taking place at Indigenous residenfial schools around Canada, which has been covered widely in the press. It is important that this work is done well and I will be involved in these sad but necessary projects.


Rob Vernon


since 13 Sep 2003 , re-elected 10 Sep 2021

Rob Vernon was born in Liverpool in 1945. He graduated in 1969 with a BSc (Hons) in geology from London University. Between 1969 and 1993 he held a variety of senior posts as a geologist in the British coal industry (deep mines), where he became familiar with downhole geophysical logging and seismic surveying. After leaving the coal industry, Rob gained an MSc in Archaeological Prospection in 1995, from the Department of Archaeological Sciences, University of Bradford where he continued to conduct part-time research on the geophysical responses produced by British smelting sites.